top of page
Search
  • sigridbrown005

Nicole Helget's Stillwater

I enjoyed this book a lot. Its scope is expansive and rich. Its details are generous and captivating (I love the descriptions of the historical moment & place the book is set in, and the logjams in particular), but they never drag--they move with the plot, so the pacing feels just right. It's also funny and moving. I'm not a huge fan of how Helget handles the magical realism element (and I do like magical realism and supernatural elements in other books--I'm thinking of Laura Esquirel's Like Water for Chocolate, Toni Morrison's Beloved, Victor LaValle's Big Machine), but that complaint doesn't add up to much, in my estimation. I highly recommend this, particularly if you like multiple points of view; epic stories; and historical fiction with a big sense of humor.


24 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page